coming up: Oktoberfestivus!

I’m drinking some good beers these days…of all things, a Raspberry Brown from Lost Coast Brewery in Eureka, CA. Also a German Doppelbock from Weihenstephaner, a nice 7.4% Oktober-appropriate beer. I also had the Stone Smoked Porter. Damn, that was good. I normally hesistate with most Stone beers, mainly because most of what circulates–the Stone IPA, the Pale Ale, and the famous Arrogant Bastard–are all total hop-head beers. If you like lots of aggressive hops, Stone is your brewery. I usually don’t like porters, but the Stone Smoked Porter is the second one I’ve really really liked (along with Maui Brewing Co.’ CoCoNut Porter, the one that tastes like if Almond Joy was a beer…)

I’m in the process of collecting a good three or four beers for an Oktoberfest flight…’tis the season for such an endeavor, and when I’ve tracked down the ones I wanna drink–which may or may not include Paulaner’s Oktoberfest Märzen–I will write diligent notes and post them here. Suggestions for which ones I should try? Lemme know!

Til then,

mel.

4 responses to “coming up: Oktoberfestivus!

  1. i usually stay away from brews that are too hoppy but i was surprised that i thoroughly enjoyed the coconut porter the last time was in maui. i look forward to reading your oktoberfest selection!

    • thank you for reading, marisa! great to see you saturday. let me know when you’re in town next time and we’ll have a drink 😀

  2. Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

    • yes, and thank you for reading. sorry it took me so long to get back to you. your comment was in the ‘spam’ folder.

Leave a Reply

